FIFA Confederations Cup – 2017 kicks off in Russia

4 years ago tngadmin Comments Off on FIFA Confederations Cup – 2017 kicks off in Russia

DUSHANBE, 17.06.2017. /NIAT Khovar/. The main annual international football tournament among national teams � the FIFA Confederations Cup � kicks off in Russia on June 17, according to TASS.

The FIFA Confederations Cup is a tournament among national football teams held under the auspices of the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) in the country that will also host the World Cup in 2018. Russia won the right to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup and automatically became the host of the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup as well.

The national teams of Russia (the 2018 FIFA World Cup host), Germany (the winner of the 2014 FIFA World Cup), Portugal (the champion of the UEFA Euro 2016), Chile (the winner of the 2015 Copa America), Australia (the 2015 AFC Asian Cup winner; Football Federation Australia has been a member of the Asian Football Confederation since 2006), Mexico (the winner of the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup; in October 2015, Mexico defeated the US (the champion of the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup) in the play-off match for the right to represent CONCACAF in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup), New Zealand (the champion of the 2016 OFC Nations Cup) and Cameroon (the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations winner) will take part in the tournament.

We will recall that the current Confederations Cup holder, Brazil's team, were knocked out of the 2015 Copa America in the quarter-finals and lost the opportunity to defend their title which they earned in 2013.

The draw for the FIFA Confederations Cup 2017 took place in Kazan on November 26, 2016, the identity of the Africa Cup of Nations (held in February 2017) winner being unknown at the time. Group A, selected during the draw, features Russia, New Zealand, Portugal and Mexico, and Group B contains the 2017 African champions plus Chile, Australia and Germany.

Four Russian stadiums will host the Confederations Cup games: Spartak Stadium (located in Moscow; named Otkritie Arena in 2014, when it was opened, and renamed as Spartak Stadium for the time of the tournament), St Petersburg Stadium, Fisht Stadium and Kazan Arena. The tournament's final will be held in St. Petersburg, whereas the third place play-off will be held in Moscow.

Source: National information agency of Tajikistan